There are many different ways you can use our services -- to create new content, collaborate with other people or to search for and share information. When you share information with us, for example by creating a Picture a Thought Account, we can make those services even better to show you more relevant search results, and to help you connect with people or to make sharing with others quicker and easier. As you use our services, we want you to be clear how we're using information and the ways in which you can protect your privacy.
Your privacy matters to Picture a Thought so whether you are new to Picture a Thought or a long-time user, please do take the time to get to know our practices.
Information we collect
We collect information to provide better services to all of our users and we collect information in two ways:
How we use information we collect
We use the information we collect from all of our services to provide, maintain, protect and improve them, to develop new ones, and to protect Picture a Thought and our users. We may also use this information to offer you tailored content -- like giving you more relevant search results.
We may use the name you provide for your Picture a Thought Profile across all of the services we offer that require a Picture a Thought Account. In addition, we may replace past names associated with your Picture a Thought Account so that you are represented consistently across all our services. If other users already have your email, or other information that identifies you, we may show them your publicly visible Picture a Thought Profile information, such as your name.
When you contact Picture a Thought, we may keep a record of your communication to help solve any issues you might be facing. We may use your email address to inform you about our services, such as letting you know about upcoming changes or improvements.
Information you share
Many of our services let you share information with others. Remember that when you share information publicly, it may be indexable by search engines, including Picture a Thought. Our services provide you with different options on sharing and removing your content.
Accessing and updating your personal information
Whenever you use our services, we aim to provide you with access to your personal information. If that information is wrong, we strive to give you ways to update it quickly or to delete it -- unless we have to keep that information for legitimate business or legal purposes. When updating your personal information, we may ask you to verify your identity before we can act on your request.
We may reject requests that are unreasonably repetitive, require disproportionate technical effort (for example, developing a new system or fundamentally changing an existing practice), risk the privacy of others, or would be extremely impractical (for instance, requests concerning information residing on backup tapes).
Where we can provide information access and correction, we will do so for free, except where it would require a disproportionate effort. We aim to maintain our services in a manner that protects information from accidental or malicious destruction. Because of this, after you delete information from our services, we may not immediately delete residual copies from our active servers and may not remove information from our backup systems.
Information we share
We do not share personal information with companies, organizations and individuals outside of Picture a Thought unless one of the following circumstances apply:
We may share aggregated, non-personally identifiable information publicly and with our partners -- like publishers, advertisers or connected sites. For example, we may share information publicly to show trends about the general use of our services.
We work hard to protect Picture a Thought and our users from unauthorized access to or unauthorized alteration, disclosure or destruction of information we hold. In particular: